StLSass

So much more than a photo…

Posted on: September 23, 2017

I never got senior pictures when I was in high school. With everything going on with my legs and cancer, I was never quite in a glorified state that I wanted to memorialize during my youth. My mother did take a lot of pictures of our family though. Like, too many pictures, she was the mom who had to make sure she got a picture of everyone hanging out, with the cake, and of course soon as anyone went to take their first bite of food. I can see how my draw to taking a lot of selfies somehow comes from my moms picture taking culture meets girl who never had professional pictures taken and always wanted them. That’s me, that is how I have longingly felt about having professional pictures taken of me for around 14 years now.

Even as an adult I have always envied professionals with any kind of professional photo. I also somehow kept missing professional picture day at all the places I’ve worked at. It was just never my time. However, this past weekend when I was invited to a brainstorming/head shot photo taking meet up, I decided this was the day, it was finally time. Between my blog, comedy/story telling, and all the side gigs I am creating, having a selfie as my most professional photo just wasn’t cutting it any more. So I scheduled a blow out, and cleared my morning.

The Meetup was at the photographer’s, Becky,  house which is where she has her studio, BSE Photography. Kirsten Caywood, owner of Mirror Image Lifestyle Fitness, had pulled us all together for an uplifting morning of brainstorming and picture taking. We had so much fun listening to each other’s ideas and exchanging tips, it was very serendipitous that we had the group of women that we did. 💗

After sharing our ideas, Becky led us down to her amazing studio, complete with beautiful dresses, props, and more. We kept the laughter and good vibes flowing from upstairs and what resulted from this wonderful morning, was Becky capturing my whole essence in one picture. If I had to imagine myself, it would be just like this, my eyes twinkling with the laughter that is about to come roaring out of me.  That’s probably my favorite look in my eye, of all my looks in the eyes.

Becky sent me over the photos last night and it made me so incredibly happy inside to see them. I had to take a minute, and just sit in gratitude for the journey that has led me to this place. I was also suddenly overcome with joy that I had saved having my professional picture taking up until this point, because the woman in this picture is not only gorgeous, but she is 100% in love with everything about life. Being that that has not always been the case for me, made the moment and her picture that much more special to me.


My heart is so full. Thank you Becky for capturing such a special moment. 💗

Have a beautiful weekend all!

– Christine

Leave a Reply

